Full List of the Sacked and Newly Appointed Vice Chancellors for the 13 Universities

Newly Appointed Vice Chancellors for the 13 Universities

The President, Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces and Visitors to all Federal Universities, President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR, has approved the appointment of new vice chancellors for the 12 under-listed Federal Universities and the National Open Universities of Nigeria with effect from Friday, February 12, 2016.

S/N – University – New Vice Chancellor – Address
1.) Federal University, Oye Ekiti – Prof.Kayode Soremekun – National Open University
2.) Federal University Dutse, Jigawa State – Prof Fatima Batoul Mukhtar – Dept. of Biology Northwest University, Kano
3.) Federal University Birnin Kebbi – Prof Auwal H Yadudu – Faculty of Law BUK, Kano
4.) Federal University Dutsenma,Katsina State – Prof.Haruna Abdu Kaita – Dept. of Pharmacy, Abu, zaria
5.) Federal University, Gashua, Yobe State – Prof Abdrew Haruna – Dept. of Linguistics, University of Jos
6.) Federal University Lafia, Nasarawa State – Prof.Muhammad sanusi Liman – Dept of Physics, Federal University, Lafia
7.) Federal University Gusau, Zamfara State – Prof Magaji Garba – Dept. of Pharmacy, Abu, zaria
8.) Federal University Lokoja – Prof Angela Freeman Miri – Dept. of English, University of Jos
9.) Federal University Kashere, Gombe State – Prof Alhassan Muhammad Gani – Institute of Maritime Studies Federal University Kashere
10.) Federal University Ndifu-alike, Ebonyi State – Prof Chinedum Nwajiuba – Postgrad School, Imo State University, Owerri
11.) Federal University Otuoke, Bayelsa State – Prof Seth Accra Jaja – Department of Management, University of Port Harcourt
12.) Federal University Wukari,Taraba State – Prof Muhammad Kundiri – Federal University Dutse
13.) National Open University of Nigeria, NOUN – Prof. Abdalla Uba Adamu – Department of Mass Communication, BUK

See the Sacked 13 Vice Chancellors of Universities (New Federal Universities and the National Open Universities of Nigeria)

The NOUN VC was replaced with Prof. Abdalla Uba Adamu of the Department of Mass Communication, Bayero University, Kano, the substantive Vice Chancellor of the Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State, Prof. Mohammed Kundiri, was transferred to the Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State, According to the public statement conveying the sack of the VCs, a former Head, Department of International Relations at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Prof. Kayode Soremekun, who was said to be on Sabbatical in NOUN is the new Vice Chancellor of the Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State.

While the Federal University, Birnin Kebbi, Kebbi State has Prof. Auwal Yadudu of the Faculty of Law, Bayero University, Kano as its new VC, Prof. Fatima Batoul Muktar of the Department of Biology, North West University, Kano is the VC of Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State.

A lecturer in the Department of Pharmacy, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Prof. Haruna Abdu Kaita is the new VC of Federal University, Dutsin Ma, Katsina State, while Prof. Andrew Haruna of the Department of Linguistics, University of Jos will now function as VC, Federal University, Gashua, Yobe State.

While another lecturer in the Department of Pharmacy, ABU, Zaria, Prof. Magaji Garba, will now be VC in Federal University, Gusau, Zamfara State, Prof. Alhassan Mohammed Gani of the Institute of Maritime Studies, Federal University, Kashere in Gombe State has been elevated to the position of VC in same University.

A lecturer in the Department of Physics, Federal University, Lafia, Prof. Muhammad Sanusi Liman will henceforth be VC of same institution.

For Prof. Angela Freeman Miri of the Linguistics Department, UNIJOS, her new portfolio is the Federal University, Lokoja where she will now be VC.

The Federal University, Ndifu-Alike, Ebonyi State now has Prof. Chinedum Nwajiuba of the Post-Graduate School, Imo State University, Owerri as its VC, while Prof. Seth Accra Jaja of the Department of Management, University of Port Harcourt is now the VC of Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa State.

However, the sack of the Chancellors has generated controversy as a human rights organisation, Coalition of Civil Society Groups has protested against the sack in a letter to Buhari, demanding the reversal.

In a petition to President Buhari signed by its President, Etuk Bassey Williams and Secretary-General, Ibrahim Abubakar, the CCSG said pursuant to the provisions of the Universities (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act No.11 of 1993 (as amended) by decree No.25, 1996 and further amended in 2003 and 2012 respectively and other agreements as contained in the 2009 FGN staff union agreement, it was in total disagreement with the recent sacking of 13 Vice-Chancellors by the Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu.

The petitioners said that four out of the twelve appointed VCs are from Kano University, an action they said, was a clear violation of the federal character principle.

“While this does not come as a surprise owing to the influence of one of the Special Advisers to the Minister of Education in orchestrating the appointments of his friends and cronies without following due process, we are however concerned about the constitutional breach and the resultant litigation battle this action may cause, which in turn may generate unnecessary distractions to your focused administration,” the coalition said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *